When Did The Store Become A “Try-then-Buy”?

I don’t know if it’s just the store I work at, toy stores, or stores in general, but there is a high percentage of people who think it’s okay to open products on the shelf before buying them.  Especially at my store (hey, I work there, I can get a little possessive…but not Exorcism possessive).

I don’t know how often I find boxes that have been opened and the toys pulled out and played with or the clocks looked at more closely only to have the product left unable to fit back inside (at least according to the opener who left the item sticking out).  Yes, it takes time to put the items back into the box neatly; but it’s more frustrating that the boxes have been opened in the first place.

I mean, I understand wanting to open a box that’s been damaged, though our return polict clearly lets you open the box and return it if there’s anything wrong with the product (but that might seem like too much of a hassle) …and all without having to leave the store.

Then there are the people who want to make sure it hasn’t been opened before.  Clearly if it’s still sealed, it hasn’t been opened.  (That’s why they make seals, they aren’t just for whales to eat.)

But the people who really crisp my bacon (mmm….bacon) are the ones who open a box to check out the product, then want a new unopened box to give as a gift to someone else.  Can I just punch them in the face or is that too obvious a solution?  When that happens, I just sigh and try not to roll my eyes or walk away.  And every time, something inside of me dies (I think it’s part of my work ethic).

It’s not like there aren’t plenty of things to play with at my store.  There’s a whole train table with trains set up…but no, those trains aren’t enough.  People want more trains (there are at least half a dozen already, but they don’t talk or make noise).  So, some parent thinks it’s okay to open the trains for sale and let their kids play with them…sigh.

I understand the desire to play (um, I work at a toy store).  There are plenty of swords to swing around that have little packaging, just please refrain from removing the packaging.  Thanks.  And masks that you can wear without taking off the packaging.  Sure, the coolest toys might be sealed away in boxes, but we do that on purpose.  So you’ll buy them and then try them.  Not the other way around.

If you don’t want to buy an open box, why would anyone else?

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

