Confessions of a Foodaholic

I’ll admit it, I watch what I eat.  I watch it go from my hand (or fork, spoon, or spork) into my mouth.  I can’t help it, I love to eat.  You know, unless it is something disgusting like Brussel sprouts or lima beans.

Don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of things I won’t eat.  Most of my sea food intake consists of canned tuna and cocktail shrimp (when I was younger, it was fish sticks)…with the occasional splurge on crab legs, lobster meat, or crab cakes.  But, the list of things I won’t eat is far shorter than the list of things I love to eat.

And they’re all bad for you (except in moderation).  Well, maybe that’s too general.  I’m not a super healthy eater.  I eat pizza, burgers, and chicken a lot.  In fact, most of my cooking is done via skillet and pre-arranged meals in bags (what can I say, I’m lazy).  But that doesn’t mean I’m a bad chef.  I make a mean grilled cheese (three kinds of cheese, each with their own layer) and have been known to dabble in the manly domain of BBQing.

I have simple tastes.  Cereal, yogurt, bagels, eggs, bacon, pancakes, french toast, waffles, hash browns (or potato wedges), and oatmeal make an exceptional breakfast.  Though, I prefer my eggs scrambled.  If you stack a toasted blueberry with scrambled eggs and bacon, that makes for one delicious sandwich.  Add a glass of chocolate milk and you’ve got yourself a breakfast of champions (speaking of, have you seen that Meijer has one-upped Wheaties?  Yep.  They gave Justin Verlander his own brand of frosted flakes: Fastball Flakes).  Of course, I’m not too proud to pass up a good omelet, either.

Sidenote: Anyone know where I can find pineapple juice?  Not pineapple + something, just straight pineapple juice.

Lunch is usually a lighter affair.  If breakfast is the most important meal of the day, lunch lets me power through it.  I usually prefer a bagel and cream cheese (though, depending on the flavor of bagel, will substitute peanut butter and honey), yogurt, and whatever fruit I have around (usually fruit snacks).

Dinner is usually pretty simple, too.  Most of the time it’s pizza, pasta, a few vegetables (in summer, it’s corn on the cob), chicken, rice, mashed potatoes (occasionally a baked potato, especially in summer), steak or hamburgers, and sometimes shrimp (with cocktail sauce, of course; who eats shrimp without that delicious, red sauce?).

Of course, dessert is my favorite meal (duh).  Ice cream, frozen yogurt, frozen lemonade, Popsicles, sundaes, smoothies (with and without liquor), s’mores fresh off the fire, homemade cookies, Oreos dunked in milk, etc.  The list could go on.  I’m certain I could do a whole post dedicated to my favorite ice creams (blue moon, cookies and cream, Neapolitan, black cherry, rainbow sherbert…but not Superman).

I have to confess, however, there is one area, where I’m lacking.  I don’t think I drink the daily recommended 8 glasses of water.  That’s a lot of water!  Plus the milk in my cereal, orange juice, Gatorade, chocolate milk, various other juices, and the milk with my Oreos; if I did follow the directions, I’d never leave the bathroom.  At least I get my daily serving of fruits and vegetables (salsa counts, right?).

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Confessions of a Foodaholic

  1. bkreuch says:

    How could I have forgotten the between meal snacks? I love cheese poofs, pretzels, chips and salsa, Cheez-its (especially the Italian Four Cheese) and baked cheddar and sour cream Ruffles; but you put a pita (whole wheat, because I’m health conscious) and a bowl of hummus in front me and I’ll be so focused on eating, I’ll forget to breathe.

Leave a Reply

