The Great White North: Snow Shovel Edition

So, here we are in Michigan (or as Ohio calls us, the Great White North) and we’ve had a few late February snows.  So much for global warming (Is that still a thing?).

Okay, so my brother and I got a new snowplow before winter started and we’ve probably used it all of three times.  (Thanks a lot liberals with your fear mongering about global warming, real helpful.  At least conservatives call it a global climate change cycle; that sounds friendlier more friendly better.)  And two of those times were a stretch (what can I say, I’m lazy).  Though, with all this late winter snow, I’m hopeful.  However, it does leave some snow behind.  Unlike my old, trusty shovel.  But, I’ll admit, I prefer the metal shovels to the plastic shovels with a metal edge.

One, the metal shovel leaves less behind.  Two, it suits my shoveling style: push as much snow as I can across the driveway and stop at the grass.  Unfortunately, it’s not ergonomically designed, so I’ll probably end up hurting my back one day (no doubt soon).  Besides, they are a challenge to find in stores and I’ve been using the relic left in my grandfather’s garage (heirloom, nice).

The plastic shovels are nice because they’re lighter and ergonomically designed (my back approves this message).  But, like I said, they leave behind a thin layer of snow…at least the way I shovel.

Maybe I just need a different style.  After all, my 50-something neighbor started shoveling his driveway after me and finished before me.  I’m going to chalk it up to more snow on my side of the neighborhood…or and unhurried pace.  I’ll be honest, I’m not a huge fan of shoveling snow (who is?).

Now if only I could find a young kid who needed a few dollars to shovel my driveway for me…or con my brother into doing it for me.

About bkreuch

I like to read, I like to write, and I like to make people laugh.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

